Good Grief!

Grief is a reaction to a loss of any kind; not just the loss of a loved one. I had breakfast with a friend today and she appeared very depressed. I asked her if she was OK and she shared with me that she had ended her 1 year relationship with a man she was planning on spending the rest of her life with. I told her the good news is that she was in Stage 5 of the grieving process and that she only had 2 more phases to go! After a few laughs and a few tears we both admitted that grieving is difficult, but a very important part of the healing process.

1. Shock Stage: Initial paralysis at hearing the bad news

2. Denial Stage: Trying to avoid the inevitable

3. Anger Stage: Frustrated outpouring of bottled-up emotion

4. Bargaining Stage: Seeking in vain for a way out

5. Depression Stage: Final realization of the inevitable

6. Testing Stage: Seeking realistic solutions

7. Acceptance Stage: Finally finding the way forward

Our journey through life involves a series of changes; some major and many minor. With change comes and end to how we have known things to be. So is grieving a part of change management? You betcha. No matter what change we are faced with in life, it will be much easier to cope with and adapt to if we hold a positive attitude about change in general. This doesn’t mean that we necessarily have to agree with the circumstances or details of the change. In fact, we most likely will disagree with it, but can always adapt to it in a healthy manner.

• Accept what you can and cannot control

• Recognize that disruptions are natural

• Seek out the opportunities that change creates

• Recognize that you always have options

• Utilize your internal strength to inspire good will

Posted in

Leave a Comment